Posted by: Wes | May 3, 2010

A little light on the subject

There hasn’t been much time for blogging last week.  I’m learning a new job responsibility and that’s kept me pretty busy. 

I don’t know what it is about waking up on Monday mornings.  Even with all the effort I put into getting my brain to shut off at night, I still get the occasional day (like today) where I’m running around on 5 hours sleep. 

Shedding Light on the Subject
Shedding Light on the Subject

It was a torrential downpour most of the night out in the hinder land.  I was surprised to wake up and still have power.  Thanks to my Father in-law Bob and my good friend Doug we have a generator that I can plug into the house and keep going if I need to, but it’s always a mess.

 
But at o’dark-30 the rain had stopped and the wind was blowing a few sun breaks our way.  Cloud formations fascinated me.  We have some truly wild weather here in the Pacific Northwest and with all the moisture the sky can start to look choreographed.
 
I know each area of the country has its quirky weather.  In the plains states you can look out and see a storm from one side to the other and I won’t try to talk about things like hurricanes and tornados.  I’ve always been struck however by the way the light and clouds interact here.  The shot to the left was taken from I-5 this morning in Fife. 
 
At 6:00 am there isn’t much talking going on in the car and when I’m running on limited sleep my mind tends to spin on scenes like this.  The clouds with their dingy underbelly, giving hints of hope of blue sky above.  The sun assaulting the scene, trying to fight its way into the day and drive back the darkness.  That’s what rattles around in my head when I’m sleepy.
 
I get sort of down on dreary days.  The older I get the more the cold seems to bother me.  I’ve begun to see true wisdom in things like a pair of fuzzy slippers or a cardigan sweater.  Having a wife with warm hands is a nice bonus.  I think over time you can’t help but get effected by the long stretches of grey, wet days. 
 
It’s that time of year though.  April and May starting giving hints of warmer weather.  I love that first day you can walk out and the sun is strong enough to penetrate through that layer chill.  We haven’t quite gotten there yet but that picture is a sign.  In the next week or two I’ll walk outside, stretch my arms and get some lasting relief from the cold. 
 
It’s nice to see days like today and know that light is out there fighting its way in.  It will take that grey stain off those clouds and the world will seem cleaner.
 
Can you tell I’m ready for summer?
 
Don’t drive angry!  Drive weird!

Leave a comment

Categories